Islamophobia in the Trump era

US President Donald Trump

There seems to be considerable urgency right now to enshrine Donald Trump’s Islamophobia into law. Talk of an immigration ban, a Muslim registry and even internment camps once sounded like the machinations of a spray-tanned salesman looking to indulge the electorate’s need for a good villain narrative.

Amid an atmosphere of overwhelming chaos, the early days of Trump’s reign have made clear, however, that Islam is public enemy number one and serves as the centerpiece of Steve Bannon’s ethno-nationalist agenda.

Trump’s Muslim ban bars citizens of seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the US for a period of 90 days. These countries are Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Yemen and Iraq, with dual nationals included in the ban. Interestingly none of these countries have supplied a terrorist to the USA.

In fact, the ban does not apply to the nationalities of those who carried out the 9/11 attacks, such as Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Egypt. This ban however is currently on hold, thanks to a federal court order.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku