News   /   Society

Protesters rally in New York over Trump's revised travel ban

Protesters gather at Washington Square Park in Lower Manhattan in New York City on Thursday to express their resentment against President Donald Trump's revised travel ban.

Hundreds of US protesters have taken to the streets of New York City to express their resentment against President Donald Trump's controversial immigration policies.

The protesters chanted slogans against Trump’s revised travel ban targeting citizens of six Muslim-majority countries as well as the planned construction of a wall on the US-Mexico border.

The protest is part of Faith Over Fear Week of Action & Resistance "to challenge unjust policies and practices that create a culture of fear in NYC."

The protesters marched from Washington Square Park in Lower Manhattan to the US Citizenship and Immigration Services office.

Since taking the oval office in January the 20th, the former real estate mogul’s policies have triggered massive protests both inside the US and abroad.

On Wednesday, a federal judge in the state of Hawaii halted Trump's revised travel ban hours before it was due to come into effect, ruling that it was unconstitutional.

Read More:

US District Judge Derrick Watson concluded in his ruling that the revised ban is similar to the original one and constitutes religious discrimination.

Watson criticized the Trump administration’s "illogic" arguments and cited "significant and unrebutted evidence of religious animus" behind the travel ban.

US District Judge Derrick Watson

The hearing in Hawaii was one of three held Wednesday in federal courts around the country to try to stop the revised ban. In all, more than half a dozen states are trying to halt Trump’s order. 

Trump called the ruling an example of "unprecedented judicial overreach" and said his administration would appeal it to the US Supreme Court.

Washington was the first state to sue over Trump’s initial executive order, which resulted in US District Judge James Robart in Seattle ordering a nationwide halt to the original travel ban.

Trump's initial travel ban, issued in late January, brought chaos and protests to airports across the US as citizens from seven nations - Iran, Iraq, Syria, Libya, Yemen Sudan and Somalia - were barred from entering the US even if they had visas.

Trump’s new order excluded Iraq and applied the entry ban only to new visa applicants. It also removed an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku