News   /   Sports   /   World Cup 2018   /   Editor's Choice

Iran to take on Portugal, Spain, Morocco at 2018 FIFA World Cup

US Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN) (L) talks with Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) during a rally with fellow Democrats before voting on H.R. 1, or the People Act, on the East Steps of the US Capitol on March 08, 2019 in Washington, DC. (AFP photo)
A picture shows a general view with the groups displayed on screens after the Final Draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup football tournament at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow, Russia, on December 1, 2017. (Photo by AFP)

The Iran men's national football team, domestically known as Team Melli, has been drawn in Group B of the 2018 Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup, which is scheduled to take place between June and July next year in Russia.

During the official draw ceremony at Kremlin State Palace in the Russian capital city of Moscow on Friday evening, Team Melli joined the Portugal national football team, nicknamed A Selecção, Spain’s La Furia Roja and Atlas Lions of Morocco in the preliminary round of the tournament.

The host nation, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay form Group A in the upcoming quadrennial international sports event.

France is drawn in Group C, and is pitted against Australia, Peru and Denmark.

Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria are drawn in Group D.

"IR (Islamic Republic of) Iran" is displayed on screens during the Final Draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup football tournament at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow, Russia, on December 1, 2017. (Photo by AFP)

Group E consists of Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia.

While the 2014 FIFA World Cup champion Germany, Mexico, Sweden and South Korea shape Group F, Belgium, Panama, Tunisia and England are in Group G.

Group H has Poland, Senegal, Colombia and Japan.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will take place from June 14 to July 15. Russia will open the event against Saudi Arabia in a Group A fixture at Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium.

A total of 64 matches will be played in 12 venues located in 11 cities. 

Iceland and Panama will both be making their first appearances at a FIFA World Cup. 

The final match will be staged at the Luzhniki Stadium. The winner of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will qualify for the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup.

The Iran national football team defeated Uzbekistan 2-0 at Tehran’s Azadi Stadium on June 12, and became the first Asian team - and the third squad after Brazil and hosts Russia - to secure its place at the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Sardar Azmoun opened the scoring for the host team in the 23rd minute.

The Iran men's national football team (file photo)

Mehdi Taremi found the back of the net from inside the area in the 88th minute, and finished off the White Wolves.

This is the second time in a row that Team Melli has won the ticket for the FIFA World Cup finals under the tutelage of its 64-year-old Portuguese head coach Carlos Queiroz.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku