Western Sahara

The territory of Western Sahara in North Africa was a Spanish colony between 1884 and 1975, when amid political turmoil over the death of dictator Francisco Franco, Madrid abandoned the territory without a decolonization process.

This self-interested irresponsibility favored Morocco, which together with Mauritania immediately invaded the territory, then largely controlled by the Polisario Liberation Front. Thus began a war that lasts to this day -in the midst of world indifference- between Morocco and the brand new Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, supported by neighboring Algeria.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:


Press TV News Roku