News   /   Sports

Dakar rally: Ekstrom wins Stage 9, Al-Attiyah remains leader

Audi’s Mattias Ekstrom has claimed the 8th stage of the Dakar rally, while Qatar's Nasser Al-Attiyah retained his lead in the general rankings.

Ekstrom clocked 3 hours, 43 minutes and 31 seconds to win the stage on Monday, 49 seconds ahead of his teammate and 14-time Dakar  rally winner, Stephane Peterhansel. In the meantime, nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb finished third to cut the gap on the Qatari leader to 37 seconds. Al-Attiyah, who is chasing his 4th Dakar title, finished 11th. Stage 9, which is 491 kilometers, will be held on Tuesday.


Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku