News   /   Reports

Mustafa Prize honors Muslim scientists from around the world

Yusef Jalali
Press TV, Tehran

Iran has hosted the fourth awards ceremony of the Mustafa Science and Technology Prize. The Prize is granted once in two years to Muslim scientists from across the world.

Big names in science receive a big prize from one of the most prestigious awards in the Muslim world, the Mustafa Prize.

The biennial event honors Muslim scientists from around the world, whose scientific endeavors benefit human well-being.

Now, the fourth Mustafa Prize honored five scientists from five different countries. Iranian scientist, Kamran Vafa, and Bangladeshi researcher Zahed Hassan received a joint award for Muslim scientists residing in non-Muslim countries.

Kamran Vafa is a Harvard University professor, who nabbed the prize for his F-theory, which is known as the Father of String Theory.

First launched in 2015, the Mustafa Prize is awarded to cutting edge researches in four categories of information and communication science and technology, life and medical science and technology, nanoscience and nanotechnology, and all areas of science and technology.

The Mustafa Science and Technology foundation also organizes subsidiary programs such as Exposure of Industries to Scientists’ Achievements, known as EISA, and Science and Technology Exchange Program or shortly STEP, all with the goal of promoting scientific activities in the Muslim world.

With less than a decade of activity, the Mustafa Prize has made a name for itself in the globe, with many referring to it as the Nobel Prize of the Muslim world. However, it sets a bigger goal. It says it seeks to act as a network that binds Muslims scientists with the ultimate goal of reviving the Islamic Golden Age in science.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku