News   /   Sport

Persepolis claim IPL title for fifth successive time

Persepolis have been crowned champions of Iran for a 5th time in a row, after securing a 2-0 win at Paykan.

The red army launched the fireworks early on, with Mehdi Abdi tapping in from a low cross by Mehdi Torabi, after just 8 minutes of play.

Ahmad Nourollahi gave Persepolis a breathing space with a close range effort in the 21st minute, as the Reds preserved a clean sheet in the 2nd half, to lift the trophy. Sepahan finished 2nd ahead of Esteghlal.

Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku