News   /   Politics

Larijani re-elected as Iran’s Majlis speaker

US Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN) (L) talks with Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) during a rally with fellow Democrats before voting on H.R. 1, or the People Act, on the East Steps of the US Capitol on March 08, 2019 in Washington, DC. (AFP photo)
Iran’s Parliament (Majlis) Speaker Ali Larijani casts his ballot in a parliamentary vote to choose a new Majlis head on May 26, 2015. (© ICANA)

Iranian lawmakers have overwhelmingly voted to reelect Ali Larijani as Iran’s Parliament (Majlis) speaker for the eighth consecutive year.

Larijani was elected as the head of the country’s legislative branch after winning 205 out of 263 votes cast during an open parliamentary session on Tuesday.

Last year, he had managed to secure 187 out of 264 votes to remain in the position.

Larijani’s rival, Ruhollah Hosseinian, only received 36 of the votes, while 22 lawmakers abstained.

Larijani has been Iran’s parliament speaker since Iran’s eighth parliament started in 2008.

The Iranian parliamentarians also elected Mohammad Hassan Aboutorabi-Fard and Mohammad Reza Bahonar as the first and second deputy speakers, respectively.

Larijani was secretary of Iran’s Supreme National Security Council before being elected as a lawmaker in the eighth parliament. He also served as head of Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting for 10 years during 1994-2004.


Press TV’s website can also be accessed at the following alternate addresses:

Press TV News Roku