Thursday Jun 14, 201205:10 AM GMT
Iran announces candidates for 2013 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
The logo of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
The logo of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:9AM
Share | Email | Print
Iran’s Institute for the Intellectual Development of Children and Young Adults has nominated two prominent Iranian candidates for the 2013 edition of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

Poet and writer of children’s stories Ahmad-Reza Ahmadi and renowned illustrator and graphic designer Farshid Mesqali have been shortlisted as nominees for the Swedish prize.

Ahmadi, who has received many national and international awards, is mostly known as the founder of the New Wave Poetry in Iran.

He is influenced by works of French surrealists and American imagists, in particular Saint John Perse, Paul Eluard, Louis Aragon and Ezra Pound.

Ahmadi was also shortlisted for the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award, also known as the 'Little Nobel Prize' for his “fascinating short stories,” which “speak poetically about humanity, love, nature and peace for children and young adults.”

A graduate of Tehran’s College of Fine Arts, Mesqali received Hans Christian Andersen Award in 1974 for his contribution to children's books illustration.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is an annual Swedish children's literature prize, established in 2002 in honor of Swedish writer of children's books Astrid Lindgren.

The prize is granted to writers, illustrators, narrators and/or promoters of reading whose works reflect the spirit of Astrid Lindgren. The award is funded solely by central government funds and is administered by the Swedish Arts Council.

The 2012 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award went to Dutch author Guus Kuijer.

Add Comment Click Here
Latest From Iran
  • Today
  • Last Week
  • Last Month
  • Today
  • Last Week
  • Last Month
Follow Us
© Copyright 2012 Press TV. All rights reserved. | About PressTV | Contact Us | Frequencies | Privacy Policy