Monday Dec 03, 201203:54 PM GMT
Iran releases initial Majlis vote results
Sat May 5, 2012 11:53AM
Share | Email | Print
Iran's Interior Ministry has released the initial results of the Friday runoff parliamentary elections as vote counting has officially finished in all 33 constituencies except the capital Tehran.

Most of the candidates are from the Principlist camp. This comes while several candidates known to be critical of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad have also managed to win seats in Majlis, a Press TV correspondent reported.

The runoff election was held in 33 constituencies across the country on Friday with 130 candidates competing for the remaining 65 seats of the 290-member parliament.

Voting ended at 9 p.m. local time on Friday, after being extended for three hours.

The first round of the election was held on March 2, with around 67 percent of the over 48 million eligible voters casting ballots.

A total of 225 candidates succeeded in securing the required majority of votes to win their way into the Majlis in the first round.

Principlist candidates won over 180 seats in the first round, giving them a majority in the new parliament.

Add Comment Click Here
Latest From Iran
  • Today
  • Last Week
  • Last Month
  • Today
  • Last Week
  • Last Month
Follow Us
© Copyright 2012 Press TV. All rights reserved. | About PressTV | Contact Us | Frequencies | Privacy Policy