Wed Aug 8, 2012 6:25PM
The two day Great Lakes Regional leader’s summit was called to find lasting solution and to bring to immediate end the fighting in Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo. The leaders from the 11 countries comprising the great lakes agreed to support the efforts of the Government of the Democratic Republic of Congo in order to restore peace and security in Eastern DRC particularly in the North Kivu province. In what could be seen as collective responsibility, the heads of state resolved to impose sanctions against any country working against the current peace process in Congo. According to the communiqué read out at the conclusion of the summit, a subcommittee made up of the ministers of defense of Angola, Burundi, DR Congo, Rwanda Uganda and Tanzania will be established to deal with the Eastern DRC security situation. A trust fund to support victims of the humanitarian crisis in Eastern DRC and neighboring countries has also been set up with an initial contribution of one million dollars from Uganda. The Heads of State have in a unanimous decision agreed to undertake vigorous efforts with a view to ensure that there is a complete halt to the fighting in Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo without excluding the possibility of sanctions against those who obstruct the peace process in DRC.