Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:10PM
The 2012 edition of the annual George Orwell Prize has announced its longlists for this year’s blogging, journalism and book writing categories. Some 18 authors, 12 journalists and 18 bloggers made it to the 2012 longlists. This year’s shortlists are set to be unveiled on the evening of April 24 at the University of Westminster. The prizes are awarded to the work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art.’ Winners of the 2012 Orwell Prize will be named during a ceremony at Church House in London, on May 23, 2012. They will receive £3000 and a plaque bearing Orwell’s quote. Eric Arthur Blair (1903 -1950), known by his pen name George Orwell, was an English novelist and journalist. His works present a profound awareness of social injustice, an intense opposition to totalitarianism, a passion for clarity in language and a belief in democratic socialism. FGP/TE